Democracy & Volunteering

London Met Students' Union is a democratic organisation which is there to support and represent London Met students and where our members (London Met students) have a say in the things we do.

You can get involved in representing and supporting students in a whole lot of different ways.

Stand for election as a sabbatical officer in February 2018 and represent the students from the school you study in. Don't fancy being a sabbatical officer but still want to represent your fellow students? Be a Student Rep for your course, stand for one of our committees, the Student Council or to go to the NUS Conference and represent London Met on a national platform. Or why not get involved with some of our local and national campaigns and help make things better for London Met students and students across the country.

If  you'd rather support students in a different way then take a look at our volunteering pages and see how you can get involved with the SU in ways that are flexible around your studies and other commitments.

Student Voice Calender 2017-18


Mon 9th Oct

registration deadline for NUS Zones Conference 


Thu 5th Oct 11.00-3.00pm

Freshers Fair (Holloway) 

Great Hall, Holloway

Fri 13th Oct 11.00-3.00pm

Freshers Fair (Aldgate)

Wash House, Aldgate

Fri 20th Oct 1.00-2.00pm

Students' Union AAAC (African, Asian, Arab, Caribbean) students forum

BEL1-08 Benwell Road (green zone) Holloway

Fri 20th Oct 5.00-7.00pm

Students' Union Women's Forum

TM1-38, Tower Building (red zone), Holloway  

Dates TBC

Student Rep training click here for dates




Thu 2nd Nov 10.00-11.30am Holloway Building Users Group (BUGs) meeting  Holloway room TBC
Fri 2nd Nov 14.00-15.00 Aldgate & Moorgate  Building Users Group (BUGs) meeting Aldgate room TBC

Tue 7th Nov 4.00-5.00pm

Student Council training session

CM1-28 (First floor of Aldgate Library)

Wed 8th Nov 1.00-2.00pm

Student Council training session

Students’ Union Office, MG3-11, Moorgate 

Wed 8th Nov 4.00-5.00pm

Student Council training session

room TBC, Holloway 

Thu 9th Nov 1.00-2.15pm

School of Computing & Digital Media Student Rep forum

BEL2-10 Benwell Road (green zone),  Holloway


Thu 9th Nov 4.00-5.15pm

Guildhall School of Business & Law Student Rep forum 

MG1-15 Moorgate


Fri 10th Nov 1200 noon

deadline for registration to NUS Black Students Winter Conference (delegates decided via AAAC Forum)


Tue 14th Nov 1200 noon

deadline for registration to NUS Strategic Conversations Event 


Tue 14th Nov 1.00-2.15pm

School of Social Professions Student Rep forum 

Tower BuildingTM1-141, Holloway

Wed 15th Nov 1.00-2.15p

School of Social Sciences Student Rep forum

BR3-05 (green zone), Holloway

Wed 15th Nov 4.00-6.00pm

Student Council meeting 20

room TBC, Holloway

Wed 22nd Nov 4.00-6.00pm

Students' Union Annual General Meeting

GC1-08 Graduate Centre, Holloway 

Thu 23rd Nov 1.00-2.15pm 

School of Human Sciences Student Rep forum 

GC1-08 Graduate Centre, Holloway 

Dates TBC

Student Rep training




Wed 6th Dec

NUS's National Executive Committee

(streamed live on NUS website)

Wed 13th Dec 4.00-6.00pm

Student Council meeting 21

MG3-15 Moorgate

Date TBC

Student Rep Training


Date TBC

Student Reps Christmas Social

the Rocket Bar, Holloway 


dates TBC

Training for February starters 

Student Reps

Wed 7th FEb  Student council meeting 22  SU, Holloway 

Thu 8th Feb

NUS's National Executive Committee

(streamed live on NUS website)


Tue 13th Feb deadline to register for NUS International Students confernece   

Wed 21st Feb

deadline for registration to NUS LGBT+ Conference (delegates decided via LGBT+ forum)


Tue 27-Wed 28th Feb  NUS International Students Conference  Sheffield 


Fri 2nd March 12 noon

NUS National Conference final registration deadline (delegates decided in annual elections)


Wed 7th-Thu 8th March  NUS LGBT+Confernece  Stratford-upon-Avon

Wed 21st March 4.00-6.00pm

Student Council meeting 23

GC1-08 Graduate Centre, Holloway

Mon 26th March

NUS's National Executive Committee

streamed live on NUS website




27th March  deadline for NUS Womens Conference   


6th April deadline for NUS Sections Confernece   
10-11th April NUS Womens conference Birmingham 

Tue 17th April 12 noon

registration deadline for NUS Trans Students' Conference (delegates decided in LGBT+ forum)


Tue 17th April 12 noon

registration for NUS Disabled Student Conference (delegates decided in Disabled Students Forum)


Fri 27th April 12 noon

registration deadline for NUS Black Students' Conference (delegates decided in AAAC Student Forum


21st April  NUS Sections Conference  TBC
30th April - 1st May NUS Trans Students Confernece  Manchester 
2-3rd May NUS Disabled Students Conference  Manchester 



Wed 2nd May 4.00-6.00pm

Student Council meeting 24

Moorgate MG2-20

Thu 3rd May

Thu 3rd May - Location elections in the UK. All London Borough Councillors up for election. Directly elected mayor of Hackney, Lewisham, Newham & Tower Hamlets. Make sure you are registered to vote 





12-13th May NUS Black Student Conference  Bradford 



Wed 6th June

NUS's National Executive

(streamed live on NUS website)

Wed 6th June 4.00-6.00pm

Student Council meeting 25

Moorgate room TBC


Any question please email Eddie Rowley on