Our Governance

London Met Students' Union is a democratically driven organisation overseen by a Board of Trustees and managed by a team of professional staff.

Memorandum and Article of the Association

LMSU has several governance documents which explain how we work. As a registered charity, we are also bound by the law. The documents that outline the governance of the Union are: 

London Met Students Union (LMSU) Articles

Byelaw 1 - Benefits of Membership

Byelaw 2 - Who are my representatives and what do they do 

Byelaw 3 - Direction Setting 

Byelaw 4 - How can I get involved in Student Activities 

Byelaw 5 - Elections & Referenda 



The Trustees are responsible for ensuring the Union has a clear vision, mission, values and strategic direction and that these are applied in the union's everyday work. They are responsible for the performance and behaviour of the Union, as well as developing policies and procedures. It makes key decisions in regards to the union's finances and other important aspects. It also ensures compliance with all legal and regulatory requirements.



Simon To
Picture of Simon To, Chair of the Board of Trustees. Simon is smiling and has long hair and glasses.

Simon has worked in students’ unions for over twenty years. He currently leads on policy, governance, insight and developing a network of over 2000 student leaders at Students’ Union UCL. Simon is also the company secretary for Students’ Union UCL.

Simon joined our Board in April 2019 initially for a two year term and has recently been renewed for four years. He was elected as Chair of the Board from October 2019 and leads the Board to support the officer team and staff to ensure we deliver on our mission and transform the lives of London Met students.

Simon is an alumnus of London Guildhall University (a predecessor institution of London Met), he was part of the student officer team that oversaw the merger of the two students’ unions when London Met was formed in 2002. He was responsible for the launch of London MetSU (as it was known then).

Simon had previously founded the national practitioners’ network for workers in democracy and representation and contributed towards the development of the first national student engagement toolkit. Simon has recently been appointed as a strategic advisor to Advance HE specialising on student engagement in learning and teaching.


                                                       SABBATICAL TRUSTEES     


                     Denise Morrison                         Bianca Jurcut                                                                                     Kerrie Draghi                              Tammika Chambers
A picture of Denise Morrison SU President and deputy chair of the board.A picture of Bianca JurcutA picture of Tammika Chambers.







Deputy Chair & SU President         VP Activities & Opportunities                                                                            VP Equity and Welfare                                 VP Education


Incoming Student Trustees

Andrea Rumbos                               Margarita Damai



                                               Myles Doran                                        Wenjie Lee                                         Iréné Fufeyin

Picture of Myles Doran. External Trustee.Picture Coming SoonPicture Coming Soon



Harglenis Building

166-220 Holloway Road

London, UK

N7 8DB

United Kingdom

Privacy policy

Advertise to Students




Old Castle Street

London, UK

E1 7NT

United Kingdom

Opening Hours

Mondays to Fridays: 10am-5pm

The Students' Union is physically closed for Summer, if you want to contact us please e-mail studentsunion@londonmet.ac.uk or leave us an answerphone message on 020 7133 4171. E-mails will be picked up quicker by the team than answerphone messages. studentsunion@londonmet.ac.uk